I’m thirsty.

My lack of attention to the blog is no reflection on my non-GE diet, but has more to say about the ease of finding foods to eat these days and feeling sometimes there’s nothing really to comment on. I don’t eat out and I’m forced to turn down generous gifts of foods from family, friends, and strangers (although, I thought I’d really cave when the house was filled with the sugary scent of Dunkin Donuts), but once you’ve read the labels, found some great recipes, and stocked the kitchen you’re all set.

Ok, so what if I DO want to eat out, and having a drink with friends is non-negotiable? I’ve found some organic wines, no problem. Trader Joe’s has a great organic red wine… Green Fin, and there are some organic beers out there but it requires a bit of planning. I found myself at a bar for the 4th of July and ordered a vodka and tonic. Not an avid hard alcohol drinker I was naieve to think tonic water was just carbonation and water. It turns out high fructose corn syrup was among the top 3 ingredients and obviously that didn’t cut it. So after two sips then reading the label, my drink went to the husband.  BTW… Absolute vodka is still made in Sweden, a GMO-free country so you’re good there.

Coffee on the other hand can be an issue. Starbucks had one organic bean in the store when I went last week and it was sold by the bag and I had to twist an arm to get them to open one for a latte. And without organic milk the only option was organic soy, which I’m sorry, tastes like poo.  Some smaller coffee shops in progressive areas may offer a fresh organic coffee but offering organic milk to their patrons typically costs more than its worth for the few customers who require it.

Eating FOOD out takes some creativity and I’ve found it more difficult during family and friend get-togethers than in restaurants. You don’t need to explain to the waitress that you’re not ordering their crap food because it’s not GMO-free. They don’t care and require no explanation, but when family goes to great lengths to offer a nice meal it’s much harder to explain why it’s getting turned down. We encountered such an evening over the 4th… the in-laws wanted to take us out for a meal or cook in but wanted to know what I could eat. The trouble with well intended hosts is that they don’t understand how many ingredients that go into a simple dish are genetically modified. They figure throwing together an organic salad is no trouble but then put a salad dressing on it that contains a GM based oil, GM flavors, and possibly HFCS.  To make it easier on everyone I brought the ingredients and cooked in. We had a great meal of roasted chicken, sweet potatoes, and fresh green beans from the garden… simple meat and potatoes meal that stimulated great conversation about the history of GE food and why it deserves some awareness.

Now off to watch my peeps woof down s’mores and beer while I sip my GM-free bloody Mary and suck that tender organic local chicken right off the bone 😉

Leave a Reply

